learn from my mistake

Today I was proofing a story I wrote in layout, post-editing. I realized I had made a spelling/word choice error (that someone had corrected) and I cringed. My copy’s supposed to be pristine!

At least my mistake was a common one. I was writing about a new trend, and referred to the fact that a few tastemakers embracing it had increased its “cache.” What I actually meant was “cachet,” which means a stamp of approval from someone whose opinion matters. “Cache” means something closer to “stash” — a place where you hide something.

I think I was led astray by the mall store Caché.

Leave a Reply

