quick tip: sneak peek

This is an error I see all the time: “Get a sneak peak at the trailer for New Moon!” (Here’s an example from a source that should know better.) The correct spelling is “sneak peek.” A peek is a brief glance, while a peak is a high point. I think most people know the difference, but get subconsciously thrown by the spelling of “sneak.” “Sneak peak” looks cooler, but sadly, it’s wrong. Copy editors are such killjoys.

One response to “quick tip: sneak peek

  1. Great post! I hadn’t noticed that trend. Of course, most of my proofreading is done on legal docs, where “sneak peek” isn’t generally appropriate. I’m guessing you’ve already tackled the apostrophe situation, which offends my delicate sensibility daily. 🙂

Leave a Reply

